What’s a Prezi?

David Drury

David Drury

David Drury, Executive Pastor at College Wesleyan Church in Marion, Ind and co-author of Soul Shift, introduced me to Prezi a couple months ago. At that time I had no clue what a Prezi was and couldn’t have even told you the name. All I knew was his presentation was awesome and was unlike anything else I had even seen. PowerPoint certainly had no part in his presentation – that I knew for sure. I didn’t know what he did or what he used at the time but I was impressed. David’s tweet this morning caught my eye and brought me back to his presentation

@David Drury April 9, 2012 1:37 pm

Used Powerpoint for the 1st time in 2yrs for a few minutes today just to do something quick. Felt like going back in time. @prezi rocks!

As soon as I got home I looked it up. Prezi is an presentation software that creates a modern alternative to PowerPoint. The main difference between Prezi and Powerpoint is its layout. Where PowerPoint focuses on linear presentations and restricts you to boxes, Prezi lets you create a presentation on a “canvas” allowing you to zoom in and out as you please.

The embed option is giving me some trouble, so here is a YouTube clip briefly explaining what it is…

Much to my surprise, Prezi is free. Simply log on to their website and create your presentation. It may help to watch a couple of their training videos before you start though as creating a professional and effective presentation could take some practice.

Regardless, I am uber excited to start using Prezi at Xalt and Trinity Church! Thanks David!

About Chase Smith

I am the Student Ministries and Worship Arts Pastor at Trinity Wesleyan Church. I have the best job in the world with help from the best wife in the world serving the best students in the world all praising the best God in the world.

Posted on April 10, 2012, in Leadership, Life, Ministry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

